The International Research Office

The International Research Office provides support to professors and researchers in the elaboration and submission of Research Projects to be funded by international Institutions or in the framework of European funding programmes, also providing targeted information about available granting opportunities for research.

The International Research Office (international.research@unipd.it) is organized in an Individual Grants Unit, a Collaborative Grants Unit and the EU Research HUB@Unipd.

Main Contacts
Francesca Mura, Head of Office - francesca.mura@unipd.it
Viviana Gialain, Head of the Individual Grants Unit - viviana.gialain@unipd.it  -  individual.grants@unipd.it
Laura Drigo, Head of the Collaborative Grants Unit - laura.drigo@unipd.it  -  collaborative.grants@unipd.it

  Individual grants unit

Goals

The Individual Grants Unit supports individual researchers wishing to apply for international funding. The team actively monitors granting opportunities addressed to young researchers and principal investigators, assisting them in submitting innovative project proposals on competitive calls promoted by the European Commission or by other international organizations.

Tasks

The Individual Grants Unit provides support in the preparation and submission of research project proposals. Its expertise ranges from the European Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions and ERC funding schemes to grant opportunities offered by International foundations. The Unit coordinates specific calls for the recruitment of promising researchers at the University of Padova (Talent@Unipd, MSCA Seal of Excellence@Unipd, Stars Grants); it promotes the training of researchers at every step of their career by organizing events and workshops on international funding opportunities for individual researchers and works for the implementation of the Charter of Researchers and of the Human Resources Strategy for Researchers (HRS4R).

Key words and funding programmes
ERC, MSCA, MSCA SEAL OF EXCELLENCE @UNIPD, RISE, ITN, STARS GRANTS, TALENT @UNIPD, MSCA MARATHON @UNIPD

Contacts

Viviana Gialain, Head of Unit – viviana.gialain@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1945
Nicoletta Ariani – nicoletta.ariani@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1944
Silvia Gaio – silvia.gaio@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1546

  Collaborative grants unit

Goals

The Collaborative Grants Unit monitors international funding opportunities for research addressed to research groups and principal investigators who intend to develop innovative collaborative project proposals, also providing support during the setting up of international partnerships and consortia.

Tasks

The Collaborative Grants Unit maps and promotes available grant opportunities for collaborative research projects, to be funded by European and international research Institutions (e.g., Horizon 2020, LIFE+, DG Justice, Cost Action, etc). We support researchers and professors in the preparation and submission of collaborative research projects, we organize training events intended both for researchers and administrative staff concerning proposal writing and grant management and we also promote the University participation in international networks for research. In the post award phase, we provide administrative guidance in managing collaborative projects; we support principal investigators and research groups in the negotiation of international agreements and consortia.

Key words and funding programmes
COLLABORATIVE PROJECTS, HORIZON 2020 INDUSTRIAL LEADERSHIP, HORIZON 2020 SOCIETAL CHALLENGES, LIFE+, COST ACTIONS, MAECI, DG JUSTICE, AMERICAN FUNDING ORGANIZATIONS

Contacts

Laura Drigo, Head of Unit – laura.drigo@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1942
Barbara Vianello – barbara.vianello@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1948
Andrea Bavaresco – andrea.bavaresco@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1940
Barbara Mantelli – barbara.mantelli@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1941
Lisa Pagotto – lisa.pagotto@unipd.it | +39 049 827 1947

  EU Research Hub@Unipd

Goals

The EU Research Hub @Unipd is a team of experts coordinated by the International Research Office in collaboration with Unismart. The Hub is dedicated to strengthening project design and development services for H2020 (and Horizon Europe in the near future) proposals. 

Tasks

The EU Research Hub @Unipd works with researchers and research groups in the pre-award stages of project development. Its expertise resides in both mapping available calls in the framework of European and International funding opportunities and in collaborative proposal writing.

Available services comprise:

- Matching between researchers’ interests and funding opportunities available on international funding programmes;
- Sharing resources and methodologies that may be useful in the proposal writing process;
- Searching for adequate industrial and technological partners to be involved in collaborative proposals where the University acts as coordinator;
- Promotion of the University participation in international research networks;
- Training activities focusing on proposal writing techniques, addressed to doctoral students, post-docs and   senior researchers .

Key words and funding programmes
PROPOSAL WRITING TOOLS, SOCIETAL CHALLENGES, INDUSTRIAL LEADERSHIP

Contacts

Detailed information on the EU Research Hub@Unipd team are available here.

International Research Office

via Martiri della libertà 8, 35137 Padova, Italy
tel. +39 049.827 1947 / 1948 / 1945
fax +39 049.827 1911
international.research@unipd.it